April 22, 2007

Game Release – v0.4b

Posted in Game Content, Media, Progress, Releases at 6:33 am by mothmanbr

As promised, here is the latest release of the game 🙂 I changed a lot of things, and I would like to say that the player won’t be fixed in that position. I changed him there for testing purposes. Also, the health bar next to the crosshair was added for testing purposes. It may be changed to something else in the future.

Once again I’m very happy with the result, I think the gameplay is better now that it is balanced. You can kill 2 times more enemies compared to the last release before you die, so that means the battlefield will be really bloody. The new sprites aren’t state-of-the-art, but they are better than the slimes. So now I can say proudly that all graphics in the game were done by myself or by a friend(if you want to know which ones are mine: they are the really shitty ones 😛 ).

Another thing that I’m happy about is that I managed to play around with MaxGUI for a bit, something that I have never done before. I created a launch window for the game that lets you choose between full screen or windowed mode, and blood color. It also displays the changelog of this version. Anyway, time for a break now 😛 Tomorrow I’ll post what I have planned for the next version, which is very likely to be the last public beta. Those who want to keep playing will need to contact me to maybe become beta-testers.

Screenshot v0.4b
Click for full size.

Download:
SendSpace [1121KB] 

Controls:
1 – 4: Switch Weapons
Mouse: Aim and fire
P: Pause the game
ESC: Quit the game

Installation:
Extract all files to the same folder and run “main.exe” to play. To uninstall, delete folder.

Changelog:

New Features
– 5 new enemy sprites; (Not done by me)
– New player sprite; (Not done by me)
– New grass tileset; (Guess who? Not me)
– Ammo system less based on luck; (Now the only luck-based thing is for which weapon the ammo is for)
– Player moved to the left of the screen; (His position will change in the next release again, don’t worry 😛 )
– 5 new enemy classes, each with their own base speed and health; (I love the 5th enemy. You will see why. He’s a big blue thing)
– Bullets have different damage and caliber; (The shotgun is the weakest now, and the quad does a lot of damage)
– Added a launch window where you can set several options; (Including some useless and ugly things like “Emo Mode” 😛 Yes, it’s your mode Moicano)
– Bullets’ trails disappear gradually;
– Moved the health bar to the left side of the crosshair;  (Feedback on this is appreciated)
– Enemy waves more balanced and challenging; (At least they feel this way for me 🙂 )
– Shotgun now less powerful; (But powerful as hell in point-blank range)
– Quad now more powerful; (Let me put it this way: use it against enemies 1 to 4, you are wasting it.)
– Quad now has a larger trail;
– Pistol, SMG and Quad bullets’ are now around 25% faster.

Code Optimization
– Changed the ammo system to be less based on luck;
– Reworked the enemy type to add the new classes;
– Reworked the player type to allow better customization;
– A few drawing and simulation routines were rewritten to consume
less time.

Bug Fixes
– Fixed a bug where pausing the game wouldn’t stop the enemies from
spawning.  (I wanted to leave it because it was fun, but oh well 😛 )

So that’s it 🙂 I hope you enjoy it as much as I am enjoying to make this.

3 Comments »

  1. Moicanu said,

    \o/
    my MODE!
    Ty moth! 🙂
    eternely thanks

  2. BlackGuilmon said,

    Really cool, it’s a lot fun to play it now. This game already is better than most of the freeware games. Great work dear, keep it up ^^

  3. […] o.4b Public Beta Now this one featured original graphics and sprite animation, several different kinds of monsters, separated in increasingly-difficult waves. It was the best and most challenging of all the betas released, since after you died you wanted to try to get further. Gameplay Video. Info and Download Link. […]


Leave a Reply

