April 24, 2007

Meet Mando

Posted in Game Content, Media, Off-topic, Progress at 6:57 am by mothmanbr

Today I’ve finished the enemy class editor, and worked some more on the level editor. Then I spent the rest of the day working on the game engine, and I managed to boost the performance greatly. It can support way more graphics than before πŸ™‚ I’ve also talked to our pixel artist, and we decided to have different sizes of enemies. So I chose a sprite I asked him to do before, and told him to make it larger. And so Mando was born.

Mando easily became the largest enemy in the game, being almost larger than the player base. But with his death animation, his body looked really small, as if he was just a large individual. So we decided to raise the sprite size even more. And this is where his came from. He kept sending me new files all the time, and I kept testing them and wondering what should be changed. When he was taking some time to send me the file I kept saying “manda!”, meaning “send it!”. He then sent me a file called “mando.png”, it literally translates to “I send it”. And so we kept calling him Mando, and I guess the name stuck πŸ˜›

Improvements? More blood πŸ˜€ More enemies on the screen at the same time πŸ˜› Fully customizable enemy classes, that can change every level πŸ™‚ But well, only a few of those will be available in the next(and last) public beta.

Well, apart from the editor and all the engine and code optimizations, I don’t really have nothing else to report. There are several new sprites ready for the next beta, but I don’t want to can’t show them to you. See you tomorrow πŸ™‚

2 Comments »

  1. Strider said,

    our “small” son πŸ˜€

  2. Moicanu said,

    It sounds “Mambo”
    uhhhhhhhh!
    lets dance!


Leave a Reply

